Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

It was on a starry night....

I've always loved stars at Christmas and this year bought myself some new toys - this is one of them. It's about 10"across, battery powered and has double sided neon rainbow lights, yummy! The lights being double sided have created a multi layered reflection on the window. You cannot even see how dirty the window is :-). The title above is reference to one of my favourite modern carols, I used to try to involve my classes in singing it whenever I could.
https://youtu.be/HeRrAzapOQ0

I was in town by 9am this morning and bumped into the Hazelh's who were heading for the station. I'm not sure they realised how unusual a morning sighting of a Sallymair is these days, lol. It's so nice to bump into friends unexpectedly.
From there or was back home and then out to Costco for some bits and pieces, we came back vous the Gyle and I took my other pair of new specs in to arrange to have the lenses replaced. The lenses should be here just after Christmas and I'll take my specs in turn to be replaced while I wait.
We stopped off a couple of things with Ali, their house is looking lovely, much more Christmassy than ours. I've wrapped and pushed all the gifts which have to be sent, now I need to get going on the test. It's Kathryn's birthday on the 22nd which is of course a cause for celebrating before we start thinking about Christmas. Sadly the forecast for our night time visit to the Botanics is not good.
We decided to have an easy dinner tonight and ordered from the Chinese takeaway down the road. The evening finished off with a trip of quiz shows and QI, I did laugh at the latter, did quite well at University Challenge but was less tuned in to Only Connect tonight.
I'm getting fed up with Duolingo at the moment, it has become very competitive, i think I'm considering letting my continuous streak of over 4 years go, and just dipping in and out occasionally. There are too many ads on it these days too. There speaks Mrs Grumpy!
Keep safe everyone, this is not a nice time, so many people I know feel on edge. This is a time for honest, firm and compassionate leadership for the good of us all. I wish we had it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.