Suiting myself...

One of the things about being retired is that you can suit yourself, within reason, regarding when you do things, and how many things you choose to do.

I am of  course busy with a variety of tasks  which include my part time role at Glasgow University , the Presidency of the SNP  (and the independence  unit work which that now entails) and contributing a weekly column to The National.

But when it is clear  that the bi-annual cleaning of the decking outside my study is well over due  , I can  decide to do it first thing on a Tuesday morning (which is also the shortest day of the year) and not feel too guilty that I should really be at some other work, like clearing off  the emails that remain outstanding and need to be sent before the Christmas holidays kick in. 

The picture also shows how much the job needed done - it is amazing how much dirt accumulates on slabs and decking.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.