A Meandering Life...

By Skeena

Low Gates Crossing

At the northern end of Northallerton High Street is the Low Gates railway crossing. It has crossed the main Northallerton to Darlington road since the mid 1800's. As time has passed the effect it has on the flow of traffic has become a bit of a talking point. After decades of discussions a bridge has been built (yet to open) that is hoped will ease the problem. It may just take it back to the congestion levels of about 2 years ago. Things take so long to plan, agree and build it barely keeps up with demand. 

In extras: I have made a wooden gearstick for Matilda, a project I started in the Men's Shed I joined. Gives my ailing hands something decent to grip.

Also in extras: I see one of my photos (with credit) appears in the new RHS membership handbook. To think over 500,000 members will have a passing glance at my image... ;o)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.