Arachne

By Arachne

Our Christmas plans: three other households to descend on Firstborn in Bristol. When he discovered that I'd need to pay £508 to hire a car to go to Bristol he very kindly offered to spend £22 to hire a car to come and collect me and Secondborn from Oxford. Then that journey got extended, by an extra 270 miles and several hours, to go and collect his dad from Margate, where Firstborn decided to spend tonight. 

But this evening he went to collect the car-club electric car and found that it hadn't been charged and the battery was flat. So tomorrow morning he faces a drive from Bristol to Margate and back, via Oxford. I know I'm a driving wimp, but I reckon 424 miles in one day is too much. I hope, since I belong to the same car club, that I'll be allowed to drive the final leg from Oxford to Bristol but I fear the omens are bad. I suspect one of the four households will test positive for Covid in the morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.