paperTIGER

By papertiger

Scottish light.

I am attached to the west coast of Scotland - it's gorgeous to look at and challenging. You have to contend with the possibility of being blown away or rained on. And in the summer months you can be eaten alive by midges.

-- Clive Anderson


Tonight I went out with my parents to celebrate their 36th Wedding Anniversary.

We went to one of our most favourite places, Inver Cottage, which is a beautiful little restaurant hidden away off the B8000 in Strathlachlan, Argyll. It sits on the shores of Loch Fyne, opposite the ruin of Old Castle Lachlan (which is in the shadows on the right of the photo) and a stone's throw from the new(er) Castle Lachlan.

The food was delicious. Between us we had cullen skink, goats cheese tart, mussels, venison, lamb, vegetables, chips, apple pie, ice cream, peppermint tea ... Beautiful!

I spent a season working in the restaurant a couple of years ago when arts-based work was hard to come by, and last year I ran story and creative play workshops once a month in the 'boathouse' for local children, so I love to visit any chance I get.

I mean, you can't really say no to working (or eating) in a place where this is the view?!

View Large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.