Sprout lover

By robharris35

Gold mems

I finish my job in January and had been planning to slip away quietly under the cover of darkness. This instinct felt a bit silly after 13 and a half years, but I remained nervous about an online leaving do being organised for today. As I feel quite stressed out, I didn’t think I’d enjoy being in the spotlight. However my peers and friends of old led a lovely relaxed session of people popping up to share memories and kind words. It put me in a good mood and I felt confident that once I change jobs to something more manageable (which also has in-person colleagues, support staff and better pay and benefits = total no-brainer) work will once again be more enjoyable than it’s become of late. And I will have to set aside the frustration of having not been listened to in this role, despite giving countless opportunities for senior bods to do so.

Memories of the 2008-2021 era, as shared by colleagues, centred around:
* shockingly poor hairstyles, especially pre-2011 (when I turned up in 2008 I had what can be best described as a sun-bleached matted triangle after working in Africa for six months with no comb or haircuts)
* my tendency towards carb loading, until the onset of middle aged spread has caused me to check my behaviour (a bit)
* a reputation for a loud, booming voice
* taking any opportunity to wear the manky old gorilla costume in the office cupboard (charity bike rides, school assemblies, press coverage, April Fools skits)
* lucky wildlife spots (when I saw a tiger and her cubs on my first ever trip to Asia in 2010)

I am sure in January I will reflect more on the overridingly positive memories, travels and adventures. It has, suffice to say, been a riot.

My favourite anecdote was from Amy, who was new to the organisation when I was in Cambodia and we were working on a proposal together. She associates everyone with a particular song, and mine is Gold by Spandau Ballet. At some point I typed some lyrics from that song, perhaps as motivation to keep us going. ‘You’re indestructible’? She didn’t specify which lyrics, but it does sound like something I would do.

Anyway, I then obviously spent the evening listening to retro music. Through the Barricades by Spandau Ballet is a choon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.