horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

A Bridge Too Far

Messing about heading home from Taiko. It was fantastic tonight (in no small part thanks to Mr Barry!). The longer courses mean a lot of in depth stuff on stances and 'how' to hit the drum. And thinking about gripping the floor and tensing your core and relaxing the shoulders and loosening your fingers and controlling your breathing and remembering the rhythm meant that for a short while I wasn't thinking about work. Which was lovely. Cos I know the next two days before going on holiday are going to be tense...

That also means I miss the next two weeks of the course, but hey, I'll be on Lewis so it's a price I'll just have to pay, and there will be plenty to catch up on when I get back. Hard to explain just how much I get into and out of this - and now that it's fifteen minutes walk form my house I can add to the relaxation by plugging into some music on the way there and back. And mess about on bridges with the camera. Of course.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.