CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Ashley's daughters and friends at the farm shop

I drove up to Bisley and on to the Stancombe Beech Farm shop to buy some vegetables and lots of good quality bird food, which they supply in bulk and cheaply. It was very jovial there as always and I managed to see the owners, Ashley and Keith, though their sister Sal was away, as well as most of the staff who work varied shifts. 

I popped out to pick up a large sack of sunflower seeds from the store and heard laughter in the back room. I popped my head in and was hailed by Ashley's two daughters (on the left of the picture) and some friends who were working behind the scenes making up the orders which will be picked up on Christmas Eve. I do like the family nature of this farm and they are friends to all customers who come from far and wide as the quality of their produce is always excellent and very reasonably priced. Many of the vegetables are straight out of the fields.

I asked if I could take a picture and despite their groans they acquiesced for me. The farm shop sells my cards for me so they know what I'm up to. Another local farmer was selling her various meat products from their pigs, sheep and beef, on a stall just in the barn's entrance. We started chatting and soon after she asked if I might take some photos for their farm's new website, which I was delighted about. I'll go to visit them early in thew New Year and see what happens. Apparently they have some piglets about to be born which might be a good way to start, in the warmth of a barn in mid-winter!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.