Santa from Ecuador 2008

This is part of a small Christmas tree in our kitchen/diner which has some decorations we bought from a hillside village in Ecuador near Quito in 2008 when we were en route to the Galapagos. So this is the 13th year we have had them. I had to look up when we went there by checking my Photobooks…it was a wonderful holiday sailing between various islands and the photographic  highlights were the Blue footed boobies and the Sally Lightfoot crabs!  I never thought I would ever go to the Galapagos when I learnt about how finches had evolved differently  there on the different islands when I was studying A level Zoology! 

When we used to go on far flung holidays ( when will we again?) I would often buy a couple of Christmas decorations to support the local craftspeople, so when Christmas comes round and I get out the decorations it brings nice memories of those places too. 
I always think it must be very strange for the people in hot countries to make snowmen items and also Santas dressed up in winter gear too!

Today we had a new tumble dryer delivered and fitted…the old one we had had since 1994..so 27 years old. I doubt the new one will last that long,

Also went on a quick trip to Osterley NT gardens to do the Percy the Parkkeeper trail with the grandchildren this morning as Claremont was closed today ( planned closure not COVID related). So we will have to go there after Christmas and see if their Percy Parkeeper trail is the same or a bit different. I have a theory that head office sends out lots of ideas and each NT interprets it according to their gardens etc,

Have a Good Christmas everyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.