It's a Miracle!

Blue skies over Denniston. Wow! And I had instructed the kids to wear wet weather gear, taken along spare umbrellas and everything else waterproof that I could think of - so of course the Wet West Coast produced fantastic weather for us.

Today I took my senior students (and Kiwilizzie for moral support) to the old coal mining town of Denniston (see link in yesterday's blip if you haven't already read about the eighth wonder of the world).

Choosing just one shot today was so hard that I've cheated and included two.

No matter where you take a group of boys, even on an English class trip, if they spot something high they have to climb it. It's a male thing. This would have been a standalone blip BUT with the white cloud, and in the 30 seconds the boys gave me, I just couldn't get a capture that didn't overexpose J at the back. Sorry about that JP.

The second photo shows two things - the miracle I've already mentioned of blue sky over Denniston and one of the Banbury Arches. The arches were built to support the tramway that serviced part of the coal's journey from the mine to the incline and out to the ships at Westport.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.