Day Today

By Feathers14

Ice, Ice, Ice, Ice, Ice, Ice...

Ice, Ice, Baby!

A devastatingly early start (2.45am!) saw me wake, shower, breakfast and drive to the airport to catch a flight to Geneva to see Eve! Interestingly, that picture (from 3rd April) is a great summary of what we did today and a pretty bloody good picture, too.

Landing in Geneva and seeing Eve for the first time in almost 3 weeks was really good. Really good.

I've never been to Switzerland before so was very interested/excited to see what it's like. Well a lot of the stereotypes are true: when you get off the plane and walk through the airport every advert is for a bank or a watch company... Just sayin' :P

So seeing as how Eve summed up the day nicely (click here in case the above link no longer links to 3rd April) I'll just briefly describe the day.

We headed straight from the airport to Chamonix, France to see the famous glacier and whilst initially having to face rubbish weather, we were graced with the presence of the sun for enough time to capture some really nice pictures. Having taken a trip to the Franz Josef glacier in New Zealand, the enormity and impressiveness never fails to overwhelm. Given yesterday's talks on sustainability, environmental impact and global warming it was striking to see the effects, today: they have markers down the side of the valley noting the levels of the glacier in previous years. The rate at which the glacier is depleting is mind-boggling.

After Chamonix it was back to Geneva (Gva, from now on) past Eve's old house and school, a delicious meal cooked by Eve's Mum and then to the pub to meet some of Eve's friends. It's nice to meet people that you've heard a lot about and put a personality to the name/face. We made plans for the rest of the week to meet up again and explore so lots of exciting stuff to come over the next few days.


I don't have my digital with me this trip (stupid easyJet tiny-ass packing allowances) but I do have my film with me and am borrowing Eve's D90 on loan from Photo Soc. I'm in 2 minds about whether to continue using the Nikon (bleurgh! I joke, it takes ridiculously nice pictures, in the right hands) or to wait for my film to be developed and back-blip... Decisions, decision.

TL;DR: Early start; finally re-united with Eve; trip to Chamonix to see the famous glacier; met Eve's friends.

Peace

-----------------

I took this inside the glacier. They excavate a grotto-style hideout each year in the glacier - a glacier that moves 90m per year - so the lighting isn't brilliant but it is interesting. I only took about 10 shots on the digital today and this was the 'best' of the bunch. Aperture is something I need to pay much much much more attention to.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.