BowBelle

By BowBelle

Security!

Well I really enjoyed the two days of spring sunshine we had - today I woke up to snow falling again... very fine grainy snowflakes, but nevertheless it was SNOW! As it's was also very windy and bitterly cold, I went back to St John the Baptist Church at Berkswell - so I could grab a blip indoors, if nothing else. I blipped the timbered porch to the church back in December and you can see it here. Today I focused on the entrance door - it is a very large, heavy, timbered door, with its original nails and lock still intact. It also has a much smaller door within the door which you might just be able to make out in the photo. Just inside the doorway I noticed a recess with what looked like a wooden rolling pin inside it. This, I found, pulled out and was in fact the bolt to the door, so it could be locked from the inside... this made me wonder why worshippers, in days long gone by, needed to be able to lock themselves inside the church.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.