Christmas parakeet + new toy

Happy Christmas!  Tim and I had an epic sleep last night, so were a bit slow to get going this morning, but it didn't matter, as we just did everything at our own pace.  Messaged a few people this morning, including my friend James who's having to isolate due to Covid, and my other friend whose birthday it is.  Had a Zoom call late morning with my Mum and brother, and most of his family, which was lovely.  Then we had 'second breakfast' (now a tradition in our house) - poached eggs and mashed avocado on toast - and then finally got round to opening our presents. 

We'd kept things simple this year as we'd already bought each other half of an Xbox a few weeks ago, so just a few small but thoughtful gifts.  Tim bought me a smartphone lens set, which I had lots of fun trying out later on.  My friend Katherine had sent us this parakeet decoration too, which I love!  He went straight on the tree for his Christmas portrait (this one taken with the 'radial filter' attachment).

We decided not to rush dinner, so went for a walk first, as the light was fading, for my annual nose-into-other-people's homes ;)  (I love that time of day when it's getting dark enough for everyone to have their lights on but not quite dark enough yet for them to have shut the curtains.)  All a bit quiet on the Christmassy front this year though - looked like quite a few people were away, perhaps seeing the family and friends they couldn't see last year.  Nice walk round the Cator Estate though.

Back home for a bit more relaxing, then eventually got on with the dinner in the early evening.  Good team effort with Tim doing most of the work on the salmon en croute and me doing all the veg.  We both agreed my roast potatoes were a success :)  Delicious dinner, followed by a CGI film (Pets 2) and a load of other TV, plus a few chocolate biscuits.  Christmas done!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.