To See New Englandly

By distractedhausfrau

Unfurling

I've had several phone conversations lately with an acquaintance who has the same first name as I do. My name is not particularly common, and I rarely meet someone who shares my name, so it was a little strange for me. "Hi, Hortense! This is Hortense!" Well, my name's not Hortense, but you get the idea. It's like listening to a tape recording of myself -- familiar yet unfamiliar and slightly unsettling at the same time. Like I'm talking to myself in the third person or something. I wonder if the other Hortense feels the same way.

Finding lots of familiar yet unfamiliar things popping up in my yard. I never noticed them quite the way I do now that I blip. It's far from unsettling, though; it's really a delight to see things in a new way.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.