Grammy

By Grammy

More of my Favorite…

…ornaments. Sunny, high of 62 deg F. We slept in until 8:00 am. I cleaned up some of the Christmas mess so I would not feel guilty taking a day off. Hubby helped. We watched our parish 9:00 am Mass and I cooked sausages for sandwiches. And that folks, is it! Hubby is reading a mystery so he gives me the play by play every page or so. I tried to catch up on blips between naps. My youngest daughter reports that four of the five of them definitely have COVID. Will get tested tomorrow. My thoughtful sister and BIL made them homemade chicken soup, one of their favs. Their oldest daughter seems to be sickest. She got the vaccine first and they did not get boosters yet so I guess their protection has waned. Prayers appreciated. My SIL is supposed to start his new job on 3 January. As for my ornaments: Kenzie made the square ceramic art in class, she is in the same class as Parker whose fish art I showed in first ornament blip. I so admire cross stitch work and included two of them. The Nativity is made from Holy Land olive wood. The antique gold glass bell was on my mother’s tree forever so it is a treasure. The crocheted snowflake is one of many on the tree. My mother made them for her children and older grandchildren many years ago. She is now working on sets for the next generation. The helicopter is a White House Historical Society ornament. The lady who used to live with my parents started a collection for us siblings in the 80’s. Momma continued the tradition when Grace passed. And the snow baby has such sentimental value. The first year I was separated from my children’s father, he had the kids on Christmas Day. It was a horribly sad day. One of my coworkers left this ornament by my front door with an encouraging note. She had lived the sadness so she knew what I was feeling. So long ago but still warms my heart. I hope you had a quiet, restful day as well. This is hopefully how the next few weeks will be. We usually head to TN today but hubby visited in September so we’ll go later. Stay safe out there. Thanks for your visits and words of concern for my daughter’s family. “Happy Day After Christmas, Merry Rest of the Year, even when Christmas is over, The Light of the World is Still Here!” - Matthew West

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.