Here and Now

By Mole

Dog Daze

I met an awful lot of doggies (and their owners) at Frohring Meadows today.  I don't think I've ever seen that many.  And I didn't capture them all.

The woman on top on the fat tire bike is (theoretically) training her huskies to pull her.  They have the upper paw though. They are stronger than she is, and they get aggressive when they come near other dogs.  So I witnessed the same scene several times.  The middle three were sweet everyday family mutt doggies.  That white doodle wearing the swanky blue boots is Scout who weighs in at 90 lbs.  I was told he failed obedience class.  Hmmm...I don't think the dog was the problem.  He immediately sat for me after one silent command.   And the 3-year old  Irish Setter just retired from her career as a show dog, so now her owner intends to teach her basic dog manners.  I kid you not. 

The extra holds a collage of wildflowers and a goldfinch - such a delight to hear and see him in the winter!  The lower left is dogbane, now dispensing its seeds everywhere.

We were visited by some cedar waxwings today.  They cleaned out the winterberries in the backyard, but left all of them in front. 

I hope your week starts well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.