YellowBalloon

By YellowBalloon

Christmas Books (Part 1)

I love books and was lucky enough to receive several for Christmas.  Here are two of them:

1)  Women of the Durham Coalfield (Hannah's Story) - it tells the true story of Hannah Hall, a miner's wife.  I know it would not be an easy life as my great grandmother was one and her life was not easy due to poverty, many pregnancies etc.  Hannah moved to Thornley, County Durham and my great grandma was born in Thornley although she later moved to the Northumberland Coalfields with her miner husband.  I think this book will give me some idea what my great grandmothers life was like.

2)  A 1960's Childhood - I look on the 1960's as my decade.  I six when it started and sixteen when it ended.  Looking back I always feel great nostalgia for that time.  It was an exciting decade when there was a sense of optimism and the war finally seemed like a distant memory (well to me it did).  I absolutely loved the music and the fashion of the time (still do in fact).  I'm pleased that I grew up in that decade.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.