What’s the weather doing?

Yesterday morning when I got up the box between the TV and my FreeSat recorder was flashing. I switched the power off assuming that was a fix all but when I switched it on again all I got was a flashing red light. Switching the telly on is the first thing I do when I get up and the last thing I do at night so effectively my world had been put on pause.
But iPad to the rescue. I used one for live TV and the other for everything else. 
When I got up this morning I thought I’d just switch the telly on to see what happened. And it works fine on FreeSat. The TV and the box are my landlords and I really don’t know what the box is or what it does. So the only thing I am missing is a direct connection between the FreeSat recorder and the TV. The reason I can’t just move the cable is that the telly is hung on the wall and my creaky old joints aren’t that supple. But I can live with that for a few days so won’t bother my landlord until Wednesday. I’d assumed the box was FreeSat but can’t see why it’s needed with a smart TV. Maybe it pre-dates the TV… I must ask my landlord. 
What a shame the programmes on offer are so dreadful at the moment.
The day started wet but brightened up so I decided on a photograph of the old barometer it dates back to the late 19th century and weather observations, barometric pressure and temperature were recorded daily. The last entry was on 19 June 1940, just days before the evacuation boats arrived in anticipation of the occupation by the German troops.
It is hidden in plain sight at a very busy crossing. I wonder how many people have ever noticed it…
And in Covid news. For the majority of suspected cases PCR tests will no longer be used. If you have a positive lateral flow test then you do the appropriate self isolation and testing and notify your close contacts. I haven’t read the details. If I see two red lines then I will…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.