Plus ça change...

By SooB

Negative

Early start for a full Scottish breakfast then in the road in reassuring daylight to Mam and Dad’s.

My sister had arrived before us and was clearly not up to date with our change of plans and was surprised to see me appear from outside, not a bedroom. We had one test in the car so I took that and came in to collect tests (that we’d ordered in advance) for the other three to do before they were allowed in.

On then to the habitual round of tea and catching up. Once my sister and partner left, I headed up to start the unpacking and wrapping (we use Mam and Dad’s house as our delivery centre). Then Mr B arrived with the horrible “I think it’s not as bad as it looks but your mum has fallen down”. She’d fallen on the farm track, straight on her face, and was cut all over, caked in mud and sheep poo. I cleaned her face as best I could, then she headed off with Dad (I wasn’t allowed to go) to be patched up at the local hospital. As is the way with me, as soon as my bit in the crisis was done, I had to put my head between my knees to stop myself fainting.

She returned just before dark, cleaner, with a tetanus jab and about four dozen steristrips holding her face together.

Obviously more traumatic for Mam than for me, but it really was a horrible experience.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.