Londonize

By Londonize

Fold

Yesterday was an amazing day for me. Now I've checked the details are correct I'm happy to share with any Blippers with a genealogical interest. I've been tracing my family tree and was stuck for a long time on my father's side with my great great grandfather Allan, born 1812 on the beautiful Scottish island of Tiree.
At last, don't know why, maybe I looked at things differently somehow, but I've had quite a breakthrough.
I was looking at spreadsheets for hours, a sleepless night on the computer, and then...there she was. She just popped out at me. Allan's mother Flora.
What's even more amazing, the record I found showed the little girl was being baptised on April 3 1787. It was 226 years to the day!

It was as if she had been, well, simply waiting to be discovered.

Soon, I found she married Donald, and had 8 children.
Half an hour later and I was able to trace great great great grandmother Flora's parents, James Lamont and Mary Brown who married on December 20 1785.
What a joy to cross into the 18th century. Records are tricky to find. But luckily for me, the night was not quite done. After more rummaging, by now holding my breath at 4am, I found both little James Lamont, aged 12, and Mary Brown, aged 16, living with their respective parents and brothers and sisters on little crofts on Tiree in 1776.
Hello, great great great great great grandfather Hugh Lamont....and great great great great great grandfather Dugall Brown and great great great great great grandmother Katherine Brown.
Bet they never expected to be revealed to a descendant staring at a spreadsheet on the Internet.
It made me feel, we are all living on a fold in time.
The past is barely over and the future is close at hand.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.