A new classic

Taken before we left the hotel this morning. The telephone in the room.
It’s a modern version of the old style GPO rotary 70’s telephone. It looked quite at home in our room and reminded me of the many years I spent working at BT. 
Actually it was just in the process of becoming British Telecommunications and splitting from the Post Office when I joined at 17. I started as a clerical officer in the sales department, processing customer orders for new landlines etc. A very different environment to the company today, I still keep in touch and meet up a few times a year with one of the ladies I worked with in Bedford, who still works there, sort of, as she was in the part of the company that split to become Openreach some years ago.
Anyway, I digress. The hotel was just perfect for my taste. It was excellent food - the afternoon tea when we arrived, the evening meal and breakfast this morning before we left.
Our friends thoroughly enjoyed themselves. We love their company and chat non stop. So a very worthwhile mini break.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.