Summer solstice moon

A day spent inside, working on the Liverpool book. I checked my journal to see what I did...

"Started the new Arthur Ransome book, Pigeon Post. It is time travel for me. I look inside the cover and find my name and address, written as a boy of the same age as my son. I am taken back there, remember when I read it and what it meant."

I'm glad my son's memories of this book will be happier than mine. At that age, my parents were in the middle of an unpleasant separation; my mother was struggling through addiction and I had no idea of what or who I was. 

The moon, as I set foot outside the front door for the first time at around 10pm that day, shone in the night sky. It had seen it all. 

How the hell do you get your head around all off this?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.