cmc1

By cmc1

End of the line

The weeds are reclaiming the tracks at this old colliery, now the Prestoungrange Museum. 

According to the Undiscovered Scotland website, this site has been used for coal mining since medieval times, and since then for various industries such as salt panning, a glassworks, a pottery, and - latterly in the 1800s and 1900s - a brickworks and a colliery.

We went for a walk at the Musselburgh Lagoons, reclaimed land popular with walkers and birdwatchers on the outskirts of Musselburgh, and nearby Morrison’s Haven, the site of a busy harbour that was created in about 1530 and filled in during the 1950s.

Before heading home, I quickly dashed across the road to snap a few photos at the edge of the Prestoungrange Museum. I look forward to visiting it properly when the visitor’s centre reopens in April. It would be great to learn more about the area’s industrial heritage.

I’ve loved being able to get out for so many daytime walks over these holidays. I hope I can keep up some of this momentum when I return to work next week, but the hours will make it trickier. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.