and through the wire...

By hesscat

If It Wisnae Fur Yer Wellies

OMG, where would I have been?

It looks like I'll not complete my bridges challenge before the end of the year, so I thought I'd do a recce of the next bridge, but there's about 1km of river I've never been close to in order to know if there any along that stretch. Time was limited, so I decided to take a short cut to skip a bit of a walk. Mrs C chose to come with me, I warned her it would be a bit off piste.

The trouble was it was off piste from the beginning, I knew there was a track to follow, but it was overgrown and we took the wrong direction, and ended up going through several patches of quickmud (like quicksand), and I was in it right up to the top of my wellies. I'd stopped sinking, but getting out was a problem, with my wellies intact and not left behind. Oooh it was close.

Suffice to say, we spent so long navigating the quickmud dusk arrived when we reached the recce stretch. Ah well... we found the proper track on the way back, which was actually on the 1880s map of the area I got for my Christmas, but carrying a >1m frame print around would have been troublesome. Ok, next year it is...

It It Wisnae Fur Yer Wellies,

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.