The best reception in town......

A very challenging day... I didn't make it home the previous night and so I slept in the truck. I woke up to two new inches of snow on the truck so now we had fresh snow on ice. Road reports said it was snowing or black ice was everywhere. I normally average 58 mph to Portland but on this day it was a little over 40 mph. I saw three trucks in the ditch - one kept upright but the other two were rolled over, two jackknifed semis and multiple cars in the ditch. There was multiple sections of I-5 that had one lane or more that still wasn't plowed. I had to use ever hour available to get the job done. Grateful I made to back to the company yard but I still had to drive home. The main roads were fine (warmed up enough to melt with deicer) but the secondary and residential were still a mess. I did fine until I reached the road I lived on. I could hear the snow / ice on the undercarriage but I plowed on and made it home.

Looking forward to a warm, inside and do nothing much Friday as I have it off due to New Years being on a Saturday. Oh and the temps aren't going above freezing till Saturday - so everything refroze.

Stay safe everyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.