CherryR

By CherryR

New plants for a new year

These are the houseplant cuttings I potted up this afternoon. They have been on my kitchen windowsill for months. This is one of the tasks accomplished this Hogmanay in the spirit of starting the new year with a clean slate, or as my Auntie Aggie (my great aunt Agnes)  would have said  'a clean hoose'. I hadn't really realised that I still take some notice of this edict more than 60 years later. I'm not saying that my house is unusually clean, but it is tidier than it has been recently. As I have exactly 4 extras left in my blip year I have added the cuttings with their roots as extras. I've become quite fond of seeing them sprout over the weeks.
In other times a Scottish Hogmanay meant visiting friends and neighbours in the middle of the night, and often well into the next day. A considerable amount of alcohol would have been consumed. This year we'll be tuning into BBC Scotland to enjoy Scottish music, at midnight a lone piper then telly fireworks. Tomorrow we'll be phoning friends and family to wish them a Happy New Year.
I've been blipping for a full year now and I'd like to thank you all for keeping me company in this rather strange year.
Wishing you a Happy and Healthy New Year in 2022.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.