Some Sunrise

I was up at around 0630 and found that the sky was clear of cloud.  I determined to find myself a sunrise and TPE tells me that the sun rises along the coast from the pier at West Bay, so off I trogged – without waking Mrs B, but leaving a note promising croissants.

Well the sky was not as clear as indicated by the weather at Bournemouth airport and the sunrise did not materialise as I had anticipated, but it was delightful to be there, free of crowds and with the light low enough for me to blur the sea in its movement.  This light, a green one, gets in the way so it seemed reasonable to make a feature of it.  I've just noticed that the figure on the beach at left has a tripod.  Was that Timmynomates? :-)

The Extra is in colour and represents the scene as I wandered up the pier, avoiding spray and keeping my tripod clear of obstructions.  The tripod is a 3-Legged Thing Punks model that I've had for about 18 months had used little.  It seemed to be quite a heavy thing when I got it, but has stayed in my car ready for use.  Carrying it this morning was effortless and it was convenient to set up quickly in the wind and the spray.  I'll use it more from now on.

The colour version is a stack of three shots intended to reduce digital noise; apparently noise is random in its appearance, so stacking more than one shot of the same scene will tend to cancel the noise.  It seemed to work, but it was at only ISO 400 anyway.  The combining process has attempted to align the images, but of course movement in the subject can't be cancelled out, and the lady with the bobble hat is most obvious, but the spume from the waves has resulted in quite an attractive effect.

Mrs B was still asleep when I got back, having had a fitful night (she said).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.