Appreciation

By Appreciation

Traditions

It was my mother's tradition to 'rid roond' on Hogmany. No stone unturned. Bed were changed, fridges cleaned, curtains washed and re-hung, carpets swept and rugs beaten. Yet every year she was ready, glamorous, a buffet table laid out awaiting the first visitor. No first fitter necessary as my father was sent outside just before the bells to walk the streets and ensure the dark handsome nature of the perfect first fitter (footer).

I ditched this tradition as I saw her exhaustion and near despair trying to achieve this perfection.

'The Pie' is a Ne'er Day celebration, yet with my sister and brother in law coming to bring in the Bells with us, why not ditch that too? And so, amongst much concern, the Pie has been served on Hogmany. But fear not, there is always extra. Ne'er Day is saved.

2021 saw the loss of my bridesmaid, my good chum Moo, a Spanish compadre and the most generous soul I have met.
It saw my boy flourish, change his University and city and still continue to flourish in his Korean adventure.
My girl take on many new challenges while developing and growing more than I have seen so far.
My family may be far flung but the distance brings us closer.
I tackled projects which have been waiting years to be taken on, and I feel there is do much more to come.
Friendships grow stronger and more important as I move forward. There's a lot to look forward to.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.