New dynamo* powered LED headlight. Looks very cheap, but is the best cycle headlight I've ever used. Great lighting of a wide area of the road and verge, with a clear cut-off so as not to dazzle other road users, and some side lighting to aid me being noticed by vehicles when passing junctions etc... hopefully, and if they're awake. It even has a "standlight" function, which means that when you stop cycling, it continues to glow for several minutes - handy when you stop at traffic lights etc., and yes, I do stop at traffic lights.

Dirty lens from the roads being filthy just now, especially the backroads of the work cycle route.

* - what's usually referred to as a dynamo should generate direct current (DC), whereas all the bicycle light generators I've used for the past 30+ years have produced alternating  current (AC), so are alternators rather than dynamos. I have to explain such things at work, and our Students need to know the difference...  it's not just me being a pernickety electrical/electronics engineer here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.