Whilst in Devon..

By TonyL

Seven interesting things about moss..

https://www.kew.org/read-and-watch/moss

Since I did my knee in back last April I've been somewhat thwarted in where I can walk. Steep inclines are a bit of a problem, so the fairly direct climb to the top of the hill right on our doorstep has been out of bounds together with all the amazing 360° views.
We do have access to the Wales coast path, the footpath is 870 miles long and was heralded as the first dedicated coast path in the world to cover the entire length of a country's coastline.
But about 3 miles is my limit at the moment.
However, the side of the hill I can manage is the north - east side which is wonderfully damp. And this means moss. Not just little bits here and there but in most places everywhere! All over the hillside, on the banks, the trees and the paths. There is also a very liberal helping of ferns.
I've included the link above before but it's still worth remembering just what an amazing bit of creation it is.
I do love them... you've probably noticed already!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.