Happy New Year!

It was 37 degrees when we backed out of the driveway to go to the cliffs for our New Year's walk. That's pretty chilly for these parts, and we were bundled accordingly. Notice what a beautiful day it is! The first thing we see is this small crowd on the beach. Please try to zoom in to focus on the folks in the ocean, and note that they are not wearing wetsuits. Some of them are screaming. In fact, I bet each and every one of them, even the exceptionally cool ones, let out a blood curdling yell as soon as the water got over their knees. The paper says the water temperature is 53 degrees, and this ocean is always too cold for me, even, or maybe especially, in the summer. I have on long pants, a turtleneck, a sweatshirt, down jacket, fleece hat and mittens. I am not even considering frolicking in the water in a bathing suit. Suddenly the group begins to disperse like a splash into the bay, with individuals swimming out in spokes away from the center. Lots of cheering and jumping up and down. It's all very entertaining from up here on the path. 

Not many walkers out this early. We see an osprey, and an invasion of cormorants, gulls and terns. It is a gorgeous fresh invigorating morning, a good dose of ozone giddiness to start the new year. 

This is the first day of my 12th year on Blip. Before that I kept a private journal for a year on Blogspot, mostly just for myself. I've said this before, but I can't imagine a Life Without Blip. I look forward every day to seeing your journals, both for the photos and the writing, these glimpses into lives all over the world, especially valuable when our lives are limited by Covid. To see vividly how everyone is different, and yet to experience how we are all the same, to see how we connect with each other every day over the very everydayness of our lives, is the gift of Blip. Thank you to everyone who works to make this possible, all of you that I take for granted--you are much appreciated! Happy New Year!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.