In with a Bang

Well this year started off with a bang. Shelly heard a fire alarm go off and stepped outside where he saw water flowing fast from above. Turns out the water pipe for the fire sprinkler system in his half of his building froze and burst. When he went back inside he saw water coming down from his ceiling. He ran around gathering buckets. I was home and had no idea this was happening until… I opened my garage door and saw a fire truck parked in the area between our buildings. I saw guys going up and down the stairs to the second and third floors and also into Shelly’s ground floor unit. I quickly suited up ( it was very cold out) and went over. I was afraid maybe something had happened to Shelly. I felt great relief when I saw Shelly talking to his neighbor Mark who is also the go to guy if you have a problem. All three apartments got wet, Shelly’s the least of the three. Later in the evening the pipe broke again and water began to flow again. This time Mark got to the turn-off quickly and no more water got to Shelly’s place. The neighbors weren’t quite so lucky. But things are getting fixed via a big water vacuum and giant fans. Needless to say, Shelly is staying at mine tonight.

The photo is my finished assignment for this week’s zoom art class.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.