Life of Tiree

By tireedawson

Happy 100th Birthday Mrs. Gutteridge

A great honour today to join in with and photograph the 100th birthday celebrations of Mrs.Gutteridge.

A truly remarkable woman, bright as a button, she still lives independently in her lovely old cottage in the tiny hamlet I grew up in.

She's always been "Mrs.Gutteridge", rarely Edith, yet is the most approachable, affectionate, friendly, welcoming lady you can imagine. She celebrated her special day surrounded by great grandchildren, happily climbing on her knee and showing her their handmade cards, sharing cake and just generally loving Granny. In her short speech she thanked everyone for welcoming her into the village (where she's "enjoyed her stay" for 60 years) and said she was very pleased she was still friends with everyone.

She has a special place in my heart as I have magical memories of practising the piano with her. I started lessons but my mum wouldn't commit to buying a piano until we were sure it would last. Mrs.Gutteridge had a fine piano, and I would go round most days with my simple sheets of music and plink plonk away while she wheeled her silver tea trolley through from the scullery, the top level with afternoon tea for us, the lower level with an even more extravagant range of home cooked dishes for her beloved Tigger the cat.

Most memorable of all were the nights when we had powercuts (which was quite often then)...the piano had two candle holders, so it was with great excitement that my mum delivered me there by torchlight and I played my scales as the candles flickered.

Happy Birthday Mrs.Gutteridge you're an inspiration to us all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.