The Seventh Seal

Well it seems that I have been slaving over a hot camera on an almost daily basis for seven long years. So, how to commemorate this historic occasion? I decided, somewhat belatedly, to take up Beewriter’s late lamented challenge to depict a well-known film in a single Blip.

I dallied with The Magnificent Seven, The Seven Samurai and Se7en but finally plumped for Ingmar Bergman’s 1957 epic The Seventh Seal.

First of all I must confess that I have never watched it. You can find the full plot here https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Seventh_Seal but in brief (Spoiler Alert) , when disillusioned Swedish knight Antonius Block (Max von Sydow) returns home from the Crusades to find his country in the grips of the Black Death, he challenges Death (Bengt Ekerot) to a chess match for his life. Lots of other stuff happens but at the end of the film the knight and his companions are led away over the hillside in a wild Dance of Death.

Credits

Cast
Antonius Block: Me

Death: An anonymous seal plucked from obscurity via Google search. Actually it might be a sealion. My brother-in-law tells me that the latter have visible ears. Unless they are wearing a hood.

Extras: Not used in this Blip but a useful feature

Crew

Producer: Joe Tree
Directors: The Blip voluntary directors
Editors: All at Blip Central
Best boy: Oh, modesty forbids
Gaffer. MrsWW
Grip: I must get one
Seal Wrangler: Seals R Us
Makeup: I made it up
Focus puller: Autofocus
Colorist: NA
Camera: Panasonic plus iPhone
Wardrobe: IKEA
Caterer: MrsWW
Special thanks: All the Blippers who viewed my photos and gave me hearts and stars. I love you all!
Sponsored by: State pension and University pension
Disclaimer: No seals were harmed during the making of this Blip

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.