Thank You For the Days ..

By Fyael

Dereliction Demolition

A Happy New Year to one and all!  It seems a little hollow to sing out the traditional greeting, in the face of so much uncertainty, but what else can we do?

We're still trying to restore order to the house after a week of high-jinx with over-excited youngsters. I have a stack of 40 or so towels, washed and waiting to be put back where they belong. The table-cloths have been ironed and folded .... now I'm facing a mountain of bed linen ... However, most of the beds are back where they should be, and I'm starting to replace the Christmas decorations with the various precious bits and pieces which were stashed in hard-to-reach places. In spite of the mayhem I can only remember two breakages -both  wine glasses. One was my fault, and the other got neatly swiped off a low table by Raf's tail. 

We took a couple of hours off this afternoon for a walk. I suggested Lower Ancrum.

When we got over the bridge I couldn't believe my eyes. The little cluster of falling-down buildings has all but disappeared. A few walls are all that is left standing, the rest has been bulldozed into a mound between the gables. 

Last time we were here, at the end of October, it was all delightful dilapidation, now it looks utterly forlorn. I guess it was best to pull it down before it fell down - it really was in a terrible state and very unsafe. But I will miss it.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.