Covid-willing, the community choir I sing in is doing two concerts next weekend. One of my roles in the choir is creating our concert programmes and I have spent most of today putting this one together. The soloist bios come long, short, in the first person, in the third person, chatty, formal, with pieces of music italicised and with pieces of music not italicised. I correct spellings, check whether the premiere of a work really was in the 'Hop theatre in Vianna', and amend the text accordingly, then I give up in the face of as many punctuation 'styles' as there are contributors. Fortunately one of our sopranos is an editor and very skilled proofreader so once I've laid it all out she'll find a thousand mistakes I haven't spotted. 

Then there's the photos for the seven soloist bios. The size of one is 4.7Mb. It's mono on a plain background, he's facing the camera and it's in focus. I love you, Robin. Another one is a holiday snap in front of some boats and it's 68Kb. Even worse is the conductor's - 35Kb - and it's hard to tell where his hair ends and the leaves on the tree behind start. I've offered to take his photo next weekend for future concerts.

Even so, I confess I enjoy making a publication look good and read well regardless of what I started with. It's just a shame that the audience to read it is likely to be in single figures.

So I haven't been for a walk today and this is a very lazy blip during a quick sneak outside at dusk when my feet were so cold I had to move.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.