"showusyourtags"

I know everyone will be tired of seeing these, but this post is for my own record. We were asked to ‘show us your tags’ (if you are on Instagram you can use #52tagsshowusyourtags if you are interested in seeing others), so I took them all off the ring to photograph and here they are.

I have loved looking at them and remembering making each one, what fabrics I used, what threads. This project has meant the world to me, as it has taken me back to textiles and stitching that I wandered away from years ago. Finding this way back, unearthing stuff I had hoarded, remembering the things we did with our textiles teacher all those years ago, has been a positive way forward. I have plans for several projects in the coming year. It also made me empty the chest that had been holding all the fabrics that Gordon’s sister gave me, get my sewing machine out and make bags. I made nine, took them down to Kent at Christmas and everyone had fun choosing one. 

It’s tempting to display the tags permanently, but I am returning them to the ring. I have kept up with the writing of a few words, haiku style, each week so it has become a kind of journal, which can be perused in future years. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.