Letters from Alexandria

When Lucy and I were sorting through photographs last week, we came across an envelope containing four letters, dating from late 1917 to Spring 1918. They were sent from a soldier in Alexandria in Egypt to his daughter, "Dear Little Rene". There's no indication who he is - he signed the letters "Your Dear Dada" - but I'm hoping to find out at least something more about him, Little Rene and her "Dear Mamma"  by going back a little further on Ancestry. There are a couple of clues in the letters - mentions of Aunties Hettie and May - but that's about it, though as my Mum's forenames were Irene May, I'll start by looking at her side of the family.

The letters say very little, other than asking Little Rene to help her Dear Mamma, or the "little Dickies" [birds pictured on the letters] will let Dada know, and that would make him unhappy. And he's hoping to be home soon...
I hope he made it.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.