Battery

Overall it’s been a laidback visit to Angoche and has satisfied my desire to get off the beaten track when I travel.

I hopped on a bus back to the provincial capital of Nampula, although it left about two hours after the conductor had seen me walking up and spirited me on board with other passengers. I spent the wait wondering whether some old women were really drinking battery acid, or simply passing around water in a container labelled as such.

The distance wasn’t too far but the journey was fairly tedious, as most bus journeys are on these roads. Buying cashew nuts and Fanta through the bus window was a welcome treat.

In Nampula I checked into a hotel which was a substantial improvement from the Angoche bucket shower affair. It felt like a grand choice for New Year’s Eve as I’m only really in the city by coincidence tonight, in between other stops on my northern Mozambique travels. Once the eyelids started going, I didn’t bother remaining awake to see midnight arrive. 2022 will still be with us tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.