Penguins posing

For today's Mono Monday theme of re-composing a past photo, I've had another try at posing the penguins, before they are put away in the Christmas decoration box. Last year's effort didn't even make it onto Blip - indoor photography is not my forte; but I've been encouraged by recent reasonably successful attempts at lighting still life subjects with my desk lamp. The needle felt penguin family were made by J and her talented PA for Christmas 2019; they began with robins to hang on the tree, and followed the penguins with a polar bear for my brother's bears only tree and a plump llama with a bright knitted blanket. M supports J hand-over-hand for activities like this, to help her grip and direct the tools, but J still feels very much involved, enjoys teasing out the wool with her fingers, and directs all the decision making about the projects. They are currently creating our tail-less cat Casper in needle felt.

Although I chose them as a good subject for mono, I think perhaps I like the colour version better - it may make it onto next year's Christmas cards, especially if this disconcertingly mild winter weather continues and I finish the year without any snowy landscapes or frosty flowers.

I haven't been able to select the thumbnail today. Has anyone else had this problem?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.