helenann

By helenann

Hungry Visitors

We've had a busy day at my Mother's home. She and I needed to go food shopping this morning and, just before setting out, it occurred to me that it was a Bank Holiday, and perhaps the shops wouldn't be open. Very fortunately, Waitrose was open although with rather depleted shelves, but other  shops were closed, including both chemists in the town. Meanwhile, my husband  was doing some tidying up in my Mum, Doris's  garden. 
We all went for a short walk before  lunch. It was beginning  to feel colder.   
This  afternoon we had to  prepare for entertaining important guests this evening, namely the members of  her book club.  I had been told we needed  to provide some light refreshments. Only six came but all the  reading and natter seemed to give  them a good  appetite, and our smoked salmon , cheese snacks, orange mousse cake,  Christmas cake, and assorted drinks were consumed with relish! Martin and I were rushed off our feet keeping their plates and  glasses filled!
And the book we discussed? It was Jerome K Jerome's "Three Men on the  Bummel" , his less well known sequel to "Three Men in a Boat" . We were divided on our opinion of the book; I really didn't like it , while  a couple though it quite funny, although  we were all agreed "Three Men in a Boat" was much better.
Doris was quite exhausted by the time the guests had departed  at 10pm. but  at least it won't  be her turn to  host for a while.

The book club members  were not our only hungry guests today. The bird feeder was alive with birds, and late this afternoon a flock of Long Tailed Tits appeared, which I just managed to capture through a window. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.