(003) Outdated

I dug out the old camcorders today to see about digitising more of the old video collection. The Panasonic VHS-C machine wouldn't switch on for more than a minute even when plugged into the power supply. Guess I might be looking for an adaptor to allow the camera tapes to be played in the VCR (assuming that still works!) The Sony DV camera is still in full working order so I managed to find the Firewire cable and plugged in to the PC. Then I found that Premiere Pro is no longer compatible with my Windows 7 PC and there are no older versions available to me. After some raking around the internet I found a tiny DV capture program available free of charge and downloaded and installed it. This does the job perfectly and even splits the capture into separate files, which is just as well as the AVI capture format produces large files. The next step will be to convert the AVI to more manageable mp4 and then see what's worth keeping and sharing. All of the above is definitely a job for a damp, cold, grey day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.