Published! Again. First front cover too, albeit in a low circulation trade magazine. It was published in the Summer and all the photos used for the article were ones I'd taken a couple of years ago at a competition event for painting & decorating apprentices from Scottish colleges.

Regular viewers will be aware of the low numbers of people Blips here, but I do take plenty of people photos, especially at events. I'm not one for posed portraits, though do have to take a few - as per the couple of thumbnail ones of work colleagues above - but generally I avoid those in favour of candid types or reportage, and always have since first gaining a camera... in 1981.

For those thinking that they need the latest and greatest of gear, the camera used on the day was a now humble and ancient Nikon D700 with a mere 12MP. Laughed when seeing the cover shot, as I'd cropped the original photo slightly, and magazine staff had cropped it a fair bit more. I remember a sea kayaking magazine that published high quality photos in its articles. They said they needed 6MP as the minimum... for a double-truck (two page) photo, so the likes of the old Nikon D40 was good enough! The lens used above was a Tamron 24-70 f/2.8, which I've probably had more published photos from than any other... but sold it earlier this year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.