Kilcoe

What a very pleasant day. I first watched the sunrise from my bed plus cuppa, kindly brought by Himself. The day was crisp and bright and delightfully cold after all the warm murk. Two blokes arrived to start on the new well house - a lot of lugging concrete blocks and mixing cement at the moment. 

 I started the big tidy up in the polytunnel and then took myself off for an adventure as Himself was busy sorting out cupboards. I was looking for a highly obscure well in Skeaghanore East. It was on a small peninsula and on the map the road just ended and it was unclear what lay ahead. The road did indeed just end - in a most spectacular and muddy spot but a grandmother and her two grandsons were pottering at the sea edge and thought it would be fine if I wandered into the fields. I did. No sign of any well but a lots of stunning views across Roaringwater Bay, and an interesting gnarly blackthorn grove. 
While in the area I thought I might mosey on to Kilcoe and admire the old church and get closer to the marvel that is Jeremy Irons's castle. I was shooting into the sun here but I rather liked the effect and the cloudage was impressive. I had a wander around the old ruined church and a man was in there tending a grave. We exchanged pleasantries and he left, returning a few minutes later saying that he had left something at the grave. I don't think he had, I reckon he was just checking me out for he had already spotted me from afar (and I him) whilst I was looking for the well. Having assessed I was harmless ha! we had a good chat. He knew nothing of wells but he reckoned people had been buried at this spot since at least the 12th century. He might well be right. This is the view from the graveyard. Not bad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.