Wrinklies

The berries decorating the advent calendar holder can safely be described as ‘past it’. Mind you, they’ll be happier than those in the centre-piece display as we just managed to set that on fire. At least there’s plenty time to find a replacement for the molten, burnt bit though. About a year in fact.
I’ve had a minor DIY success (have to toot my own horn). A while ago the oven repairman said I needed an electrician to fix the faulty connection box but I’ve never bothered and today thought I’d have a look at it myself. Unscrewed the cover plate and what do you know but there’s a loose earth wire. Aha! Sorted that out (with some difficulty, seriously bad design there), checked another wire though and that seemed a bit loose, checked another, loose too. Of the six wires in the box five turned out to be loose including one with scorch marks around it. Then to cap it off, and after tightening everything up, I realised that the main plastic connector was cracked. Time to go shopping! In the end I found a very similar looking unit and just junked the old one. It’s not perfect but the oven works fine and I think I’ve reduced the chances of an electrical fire by a gazillion percent!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.