VictoriaC

By VictoriaC

Blue sky

It was a beautiful day today … blue sky, sunshine, fresh but by golly it was a cold wind!! I never feel the cold normally … it’s rare that I get cold, other than when outdoor swimming but today I really felt chilly. I love days like this though and I am lucky enough to be able to walk for 5 mins from home be in the countryside.

The hill you see in the distance is Pendle Hill … famous for being the home of The Pendle Witches who were tried and executed for witchcraft in 1612. Ten people were sentenced to death by hanging, having been found guilty during a trial at Lancaster Castle. The evidence was based on hearsay and superstition!! The final resting places of those accused have never been found!!

In 2012 it was the 400 year anniversary of the trials and the year 1612 was marked on Pendle Hill … it could be seen for miles around!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.