Waste not, Want not

I am trying very hard indeed to be a good Victorian.  It's pretty much common knowledge that very little went to waste in Victorian times.  Every thing was recycled, reused and repurposed until it was literally dropping to pieces - and even then it had a use (rags were used to make paper for example).

So - the fabric for this table cloth has been sitting in my top cupboard for at least 25 years; and finally I have a use for it!!  The making took far longer than it should have, because it was cut into unequaled sized triangles which did not fit together easily.  I really can't remember why we got it, but I think it was offered as an alternative to parts of the brocade curtains you see behind the epergne.

Anyway, the tablecloth was made so that the wooden table is protected against the bright sunlight that streams through the window at this time of year.

I'm quite proud of myself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.