The Lesser Known Downward Squirrel Pose

I was on the Penn State campus Tuesday afternoon for some meetings. The weather was chilly and breezy, with very interesting clouds and light, and dramatic shadows. The conditions were unusual, just spectacular for photos, and I took many.

As I walked through the center of campus between meetings, I looked up and noticed this squirrel on a tree branch about 12 feet off the ground. I observed it for several minutes. While it did not move from this position during that time, I saw nothing to indicate the squirrel was in any distress.

The squirrel had its head tucked down, resting it on a knot on the branch as though it were a pillow. Its left front paw was out in front of it, giving it support on the branch. Its right front paw was tucked beneath it. Above it all was its fantastic, bushy tail, wrapped tightly around it like a fluffy blanket.

At first, I thought it might be sleeping, but I noticed as I got closer that the squirrel's eyes were actually open. While I like to think that it was practicing a new and innovative "downward squirrel" yoga position, I suspect that it was merely huddled up like this to try to stay warm. I admit I have never seen a squirrel do this, so I thought it was worth sharing!

By the way, our campus is famous for its friendly squirrels. There is even a young woman they call "the Squirrel Whisperer" who feeds the squirrels in the central part of campus, not far from where I took this photo.

The squirrels actually allow her to put little HATS on them, if you can believe that. (Don't believe me? Look up "Penn State Squirrel Whisperer" and/or "Sneezy the Penn State Squirrel" on YouTube!) I have not run into the Squirrel Whisperer yet, but one of these days if I do, I will be sure to take pictures. Who knows, this may even be one of her favorite squirrels!

The song to accompany this photo is a ridiculously fun tune by Ray Stevens, The Mississippi Squirrel Revival. Listen to hear about the day the squirrel went berserk in the First Self-Righteous Church of that sleepy little town of Pascagoula!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.