View

Sorry, not a very interesting picture.  I didn't intend to post it when I took it.  I was standing on a Chilterns high point called Pulpit Hill, on the rim of a prehistoric hill fort, and noticed the large building in the distance in the centre of the image.  I took the photo so that I could blow it up on my computer screen and see whether it is Waddesdon Manor - which it is! - a 19th century "French" chateau built by the Rothschilds and now a wonderful National Trust property to visit.

I was looking north west across the Vale of Aylesbury, and Aylesbury itself is just off to the right.  Then I noticed the chimney in the distance on the right.  It has taken me a while to work out what it is, but it is Buckinghamshire Council's waste treatment plant.  Non-recyclable waste is sent to the treatment plant instead of being sent to landfill and is converted into enough electricity to power 40,000 homes.

The village of Great Kimble is in the foreground, there are a surprising number of sheep in the valley, and the sun is shining although there was a hard frost first thing. I think I have wrung everything I can from a boring photo ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.