An Afternoon at Bald Eagle State Park

It turned into a nice afternoon, and my husband and I decided it was time to visit Bald Eagle State Park. There is a hoagie shop we sometimes stop at to grab a hoagie at a side road along the way, but they didn't have any available at that time. So we stopped in Milesburg instead, and picked up a hoagie at Fisher's Market, a place we've never been before, because of the big sign out front that said: Regular Sub $4.50.

Our first act at the park was to nab a picnic table and split that hoagie, which was quite good! Then we walked all around the park. Above is a shot of the frog pond, along the Butterfly Trail. It was starting to freeze, and the texture of the surface looked like brush strokes on a canvas. (That structure in the distance is some sort of man-made nesting box for birds.)

We walked all around, and ended up at the winter launch area (where restrooms are open, one of the few spots in the park where they are). And then we walked down along the beach, which is split now by a long fence. The fence provided some neat photo ops and you may see a picture of my husband strolling along between the fence and the water, walking along all those lines. (For contrast, here's a shot of the same beach in summer.)

We spent a few hours hiking and then I commented that I'd noticed a Lupita's in Milesburg. We had tried the State College one a few weeks ago, so we opted to give the Milesburg one a try, as well. So that's where we went, and tried a takeout tostada and an empanada, both of which were good! So on this day, we tried TWO new places, and liked them!

My soundtrack song is for the man I love, walking along the lines of that fence. Yes, I love him to bits, and he's the one who takes me to so many of these places where I snap all of these pictures. He's my rock, my hiking partner, my soulmate, my lifelong love affair. My song is: Travis Tritt covering a Johnny Cash favorite, I Walk the Line. And here's Johnny's original, which I have been listening to, and loving, my entire life!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.